125 Years of Women at MIT

Previous Page
ESR Exhibit AMITA Home Next Page
Previous Page
ESR Exhibit
Next Page


The 1960s

Change was a constant now. Stanly McCormick Hall made possible a women's community of size and strength, and women began to change the voice of MIT.
Dean Wick at McCormick Hall

In 1963, Prof Emily Wick '51 (Left, at McCormick Hall) became the first women to come up through the ranks and receive tenure. She was appointed Associate Dean of Student Affairs soon after and was asked to run a "women's program". She was ably assisted by Dorothy (Dotty) Bowe HM AMITA.
symposium audience In 1964, the Association of Women Students, headed by Margaret MacVicar '65, sponsored a national symposium "American Women in Science and Engineering". Carol Gustafsen Van Aken '65 was the chairman and MITWA, faculty members and Dean Jacqueline Mattfield provided support.

MITWA became AMITA in 1964

By 1968, all intramurals, not just sailing and fencing, were open to women. Because women students had no physical education requirement, they had lowest priority for use of the athletic facilities. The crew team could only use the wherries fomr 6-8 am.

Professor Margaret L. A. MacVicar '65 (Right) launched the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) in 1968. For the first time anywhere, undergraduates could participate in research with a faculty member or research staffof a particular company.

A women's newspaper, Sojourner, started as a student activity.
Shirley A Jackson '68Linda Greiner Sprague '60, Management, was the first woman chairman of the Tech newspaper

Maria Kivisild Ogrydziak '69, Architecture, became the first woman president of the Undergraduate Association. and a member of the Athletic Association in 1968. Her daughter Julia '96 would be an AMITA Scholastic award winner.

Shirley A. Jackson '68 Physics (Right), AMITA Scholastic award winner, and Jennifer N. Rudd '68, Biology, were two of the first African American women to receive SBs from MIT

Karen Wattel Arenson '70 was managing editor of the Tech. She became a member of the New York Times and was President of the Alumni/ae Association in 1995.

Previous Page
Next Page
Previous Page
Next Page

copyright ©1998 Association of MIT Alumnae