Ellen Swallow Richards' Legacy: MIT Alumnae Make a Difference

Saturday, March 5, 2011 , Conference 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM,   Reception and Dinner 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Register Today

Conf Home
About ESR
Conference Home -> Program


Lunch and Opening Remarks at noon, Faculty Club

Our luncheon speaker is Institute Professor Mildred Dresselhaus HM '86, Professor of Physics and Electrical Engineering, MIT. There will also be a briefing on the last 140 years of MIT women by Professor Margery Resnick.

Dresselhaus Professor Dresselhaus HM '86 is an award-winning MIT Faculty member. Her research focus has been electronic materials, particularly nanoscience and nanotechnology, with special regard to carbon related materials, novel forms of carbon, including fullerenes, carbon nanotubes. A past president of the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and several other scientific organizations, Professor Dresselhaus has also been a leader in promoting opportunities for women in science and engineering. She co-chaired the MIT Ad Hoc Committee on the Role of Women at MIT (1972)

Parallel Workshops 1:30 pm to 5 pm, Tang Center

Session one 1:30-3:00

Alumnae Educators: Spreading the Word on Science and Technology Rm 315:
Dr. Leah Jamieson, '71, Dean of Engineering, Purdue University;
Karen Arenson, '70, Former Education Reporter and business editor, The New York Times, Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow;
Dr. Cecily Cannan Selby, LI '50, Professor of Science Education, NYU, and former National Executive Director, Girl Scouts;
Elisabeth Stock, '90 and '95, CEO and Co-Founder, Computers for Youth;
Emily Wade, '45, President, Museum Institute for Teaching Science (MITS)

Champions of Sustainable Environment Rm 325:
Dr. Elisabeth Drake, '58, ScD '66, former Assistant Director, MIT Energy Lab;
Carol Thomas, AR '50, Fellow, American Institute of Planners
Prof. Diane McKnight '75, Professor of Environmental Engineering, University of Colorado; INSTAAR fellow
Sarah Simon, '72, PE, Environmental Compliance Manager, Ameresco

Session Two 3:30-5:00

Alumnae in Healthcare Rm 315:
Roseanna Means '76 and '77, MD, Founder, Women of Means; Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School;
Dr. Florence Haseltine, '70, MD, Director of the Center for Population Research, NIH;
Prof. B. Katherine Swartz, '72, Professor of Health Policy & Mgmt, Harvard School of Public Health
Dr. Nazneen Aziz, PhD '87 ,Director of Molecular Medicine, College of American Pathologists; Founder, Vitrimark

Alumnae in the Innovation Ecosystem Rm 325:
Jean Hammond SM '86, Founder and Investor, Golden Seeds Boston; Entrepreneur in Residence, MIT;
Marilyn Matz '80, Founder, Paradigm4; previously Founder, Cognex;
Yuying Tang, ML '94, Founder and President, InaMei Skincare; Lab Manager, University of Massachusetts Center for Hierarchical Manufacturing;
Priya Iyer, SM '90, CEO, Anaqua
Regina Valluzzi, '98, Independent Consultant for Pharmaceuticals Industry

Reception 5-7 pm

Dinner at the Faculty Club 7 pm

Dinner at the Faculty Club with Anne Street '69, the current President of the MIT Alumni Association, and other former presidents of MITAA and AMITA will be joining us.

Conference Patron:      MITAA logo Healthcare             And support from the     MITAA logo
MIT Logo

   | MIT Alumni Association      copyright 2006